fbpx Communications Faculty | University of West Alabama Skip to main content
Explore UWA Request Info Schedule a Visit Apply Now

Communications Faculty

Faculty in the Department of Communications come from diverse educational and professional backgrounds. Having worked extensively in their respective fields prior to becoming educators, these faculty members bring a wealth of real-world, experiential knowledge to the classroom. 

Dr. Amy H. Jones, Chair

Amy Jones     Event Planning, Mass Media, Communication Theory 

Mr. Greg Jones

Greg Jones     Graphic Design, Web Design, Magazine Publication

Dr. Tina Jones

Tina Jones     News Writing and Reporting

Mr. Caleb Walters

Caleb Walters     Graphic Design, Photography, Social Media, Advertising

Mr. Brandon Walker

Brandon Walker     Video and Audio Production, Editing, Photography

Mrs. Amanda Gilliland

Amanda Gilliland     Professional Speaking, Mass Communication

Ms. Heather Birkeland

Heather Birkeland     Graphic Design, Digital Communication

Mr. Caleb Smith

Caleb Smith     Media Technician

Jordan Allison

Adjunct - Writing for Sports Media

Randa Hovater

Adjunct - Media Writing, Advanced Media Writing

Jenny Miller

Adjunct - Intro to Mass Communication, Professional Speaking

Byron Thetford

Adjunct - Professional Speaking