The following Traffic Rules and Parking Regulations are effective on August 1, 2023. Any person who owns, operates, and parks a motor vehicle on the University of West Alabama (UWA) property submits fully to all rules and regulations outlined on this webpage. Faculty, Staff, and Students (including online students, Charter School employees and USC students) are responsible for knowing the traffic rules and parking regulations governing the operation of motor vehicles on the campus of UWA. Anyone operating a motor vehicle in violation of the university parking policy will be held responsible for any such infringement. Failure to comply may result in university disciplinary action, fines, vehicle immobilization, or towing.
All vehicles operated on UWA campus must be appropriately registered with the University Police Department and display a current UWA or University Charter School decal or hang tag; 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Registration is no guarantee of a parking space near the place where one works, attends class or visits. The responsibility of finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator. Lack of space, rain, or inclement weather is not a valid excuse for violation of these regulations. Parking for all decal/hang tag holders are on a first come, first serve basis.
SECTION I–VEHICLE REGISTRATION
- All members of The University of West Alabama Community to include student body, faculty, staff, University Charter School employees, USC students, and visitors who operate vehicles on campus are required to register any vehicle driven on campus with the University Police Department. The registration process begins with completing the Online Registration Form.
University Charter School employees, USC students and Visitors should secure a permit from the University Police Department located at the Craiger House Monday – Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 3:45 p.m. Special arrangements can be made for those who are unable to come during business hours. Decals are valid from August 1st – July 31st each year.
- Vehicle registration announcements are released during the first week of each semester.
b. Students attending on-campus classes only one night a week are required to purchase decals. Online students who park on campus are also required to possess a decal.
- Registration fees:
- Faculty/Staff—$10.00 annually
- Resident Students—$15.00 annually
- Commuter Students—$25.00 annually June 7, 2023
- Community Members—Free (expires annually)
- Visitors—Free (expires after one day)
- Physical Therapy – Free with proper documentation
- Charter School employees – $10.00 annually
- USC students – $10.00 annually
- All student registrants including USC students are eligible for up to two decals. Decals shall not be transferred between vehicles. Each vehicle must be registered.
- Vehicle registration announcements are released during the first week of each semester.
Faculty and staff can purchase up to three decals and must have all three vehicles registered. Students/family members of faculty and staff with green decals must park in the white parking areas.
University Charter School employees can purchase up to three (3) decals. Decals shall not be transferred between vehicles. All vehicles must be registered.
- To obtain a decal, you must:
- Register online
- Show proof of liability insurance
- Show a valid Driver’s License
- Vehicle must have a license plate (tag) (present tag registration)
- Decals are valid from the time of purchase until the end of the summer and must be displayed on the windshield at all times; they expire on July 31st of each year. Decals remain the property of UWA and shall be surrendered if requested by University Police. All lost or stolen decals must be reported to University Police immediately. For students, failure to report the loss will be considered a violation of the Code of Student Conduct. Decals shall not be sold, exchanged, or purchased from any person other than the University Police Department. Possession of a lost, stolen, forged or altered decal will result in revocation of parking privileges and considered a violation of the Code of Student Conduct. Providing false or incorrect information to obtain a parking decal is a violation of the University Traffic Rules and Parking Regulations and is subject to a fine of $100.00, revocation of parking privileges and referred to UWA Student Life Committee for disciplinary action.
- If a vehicle is sold or traded, it is the owner/driver’s responsibility to remove the decal from the windshield prior to selling or trading the vehicle. It is also the owner/driver’s responsibility to update the vehicle information with the University Police Department. If you are unable to retain your decal, you will have to purchase a replacement.
- Replacement of Windshield – it is the owner/driver’s responsibility to remove the decal from the windshield prior to replacing the windshield. If you are unable to retain your decal, you will have to purchase a replacement.
- Replacement Decals – to receive a free replacement decal, you must turn in your current/old decal, except for a motor vehicle accident (accident report required).
- All on-campus drivers must renew decals each year at the beginning of the Fall Semester (August 1st).
- Decals can only be used by individuals who have a registered vehicle.
- Unauthorized possession or use of a faculty/staff or student decal may result in disciplinary action for any parties involved.
- Unlawful possession and use of a Handicapped Parking Decal will result in immediate suspension of campus parking privileges, a $300 fine, and referral to the UWA Student Life Committee for disciplinary action.
- Decals must be properly displayed and visible on the lower right-hand corner of the passenger side windshield any time the vehicle is being- operated or parked on UWA property including weekends and holidays, etc.
- Decals located in other places on the vehicle other than the lower right- hand corner of the passenger side windshield will result in a citation.
Special Note: Any person who owns, operates, and parks a motor vehicle on UWA campus is required to have a parking decal, no exceptions.
- Decal Colors:
- RED Decals are issued to students residing in Gilbert Hall.
- GOLD Decals are issued to students residing in Reed and Selden Halls.
- YELLOW Decals are issued to students living in Hoover Apartments.
- PURPLE Decals are issued to students living in Stickney Hall.
- LIGHT TEAL Decals are issued to students living in Patterson Apartments.
- WHITE Decals are issued to students living off campus.
- ORANGE Decals are issued to members of the community.
- GREEN Decals are issued to faculty and staff of The University of West Alabama. Faculty and staff found abusing this privilege by purchasing green decals for non-faculty/staff use will be fined $100.00.
- Royal BLUE Decals are issued to students, faculty, and staff who are certified for accessible parking by the State in which the individual resides. Spaces have been identified throughout campus, specifically for people with disabilities. To park in a handicapped parking space, you must have a UWA (BLUE) DECAL and one of the following: a state-issued disability license plate or a state-issued disability hang displayed on the rearview mirror.
- GRAY Decals are issued only those Graduate Assistants officially recognized by the School of Graduate Studies. NO EXCEPTIONS.
- RED UCS decals with the USC logo are issued to Charter School employees and should park in the designated area at University Charter School or on School Street, behind Sisk Hall and Common Grounds parking lot.
- White Decals with USC logo are issued to USC students and should park at University Charter School.
SECTION III–PARKING AREAS
- From 7:00 A.M. to 6:00 P.M. (Monday-Friday) vehicles must be parked in the zone categorized by the color of the decal.
- RED decals in the University Housing Areas (Gilbert Hall only).
- GOLD decals in Spieth/Reed parking lots only. During restricted hours, no red, light teal, or purple decals are allowed in the following zones: Bibb Graves, Lyon Hall, Hughes Gym, Foust, Wallace, Library, Pruitt, and Webb. During restricted hours, Yellow decals are allowed to park in lower Wallace Hall parking lot, McConnell Guest House lot or behind Sisk Hall only. The University Police will strictly enforce this rule, and there will not be an appeal for these tickets. Permission may be granted to those students with special projects for class, but they must contact the University Police Department before parking in these areas.
- Yellow decals should park in the designated Hoover parking lot and lower Wallace Hall lot. May also park in the McConnell Guest House lot or behind Sisk Hall.
- White decals in the designated commuting zones and overflow parking areas.
- Orange decals in white zones.
- Purple decals in white zones only in residence hall lots and designated lower Wallace Hall lot.
- Light Teal decals in white zones only in Patterson parking lot and Gilbert Hall lot.
- Royal Blue decals will be issued to students, faculty, and staff who have a valid handicap placard or license plate registered by the state, in his/her name. To park in a handicapped parking space, you must have a UWA (DARK BLUE) DECAL along with the state issued handicap placard or handicap license plate.
- Green decals in the green zones and white zones for overflow.
- Red or White USC decals in the designated areas of Lyon Hall and University Charter School.
- Visitors on campus may use spaces other than Green or Yellow. Handicapped spaces may be used if a handicapped placard is visible. Visitors must obtain a temporary parking permit from the University Police Department located at the Craiger House.
- Parking is not permitted on the grass under any circumstance.
- Before 7:00 A.M. and after 6:00 P.M., parking is not restricted. Decals are still required during this period.
- No parking zones (painted yellow lines) and handicap zones are enforced 24 hours a day.
Persons or groups sponsoring events and inviting guests to campus must notify the University Police Department via Help Desk 48 hours before the event with the approximate number of guests, and the parking areas they will be using. The University Police will either issue special guest passes or suspend parking enforcement in the area.
Remember, residential parking is restricted, and anyone found parking outside their restricted parking area will be subject to receive a citation for violating the Parking & Traffic Rules and Regulations. To park on campus, residents must purchase a student parking decal.
SECTION IV–MOTORCYCLES, MOTOR SCOOTERS, MOTORBIKES, AND TRAILERS
- The above will not be operated or parked in a manner that creates a hazard to traffic, pedestrians, and recreational areas.
- The above will not be operated in buildings or on lawns or sidewalks.
- They will not be parked in a manner that obstructs entrances to buildings or driveways.
- Helmets are required on all motor-driven cycles.
- Special permission for parking trailers, boats, or RVs on campus must be given by the Chief of University Police.
SECTION V—GOLF CARTS/ UTILITY VEHICLES
- Only University-owned golf carts will be allowed to operate on campus unless medical conditions warrant or during days with special events.
- All authorized operators of UWA owned golf carts/utility vehicles must abide by the UWA Golf Cart/ Utility Vehicle Regulations.
SECTION VI — BICYCLES
- Each bicycle used on campus must be registered. Although there is no registration fee, this will give the University Police valuable information in the unfortunate event that your bike is stolen. You will be provided with a bicycle decal upon registering your bicycle.
- Bikes secured in such a way that interferes with academic and residence hall entrances or exits are a potential liability if the building must be evacuated. Therefore, bicycles secured in doorways or on stairwells will be impounded, and owners will be assessed a $25.00 fine.
- Bicycles not secured to bicycle racks will also be impounded, and owners will be fined $10.oo. This includes bikes secured to trees, shrubbery or signage.
- Impounded bicycles will be retained for a maximum of 90 days, after which they will be referred to the Business Office for disposal.
- Bicycles should be removed from campus when the University is closed for more than one week to avoid impounding.
- Please be courteous to pedestrians and obey traffic laws if traveling on roads.
- Wear a helmet to protect yourself in the event of an accident.
SECTION VII–VIOLATIONS AND FINES
- Registration and Decals:
- All city and state regulations and all directive signs governing the use of vehicles shall be observed at all times.
- The registrant of a vehicle is held responsible for the safe operation and proper parking of his/her vehicle, regardless of who may be the operator. A ticket is not excused on the plea that another person was driving the vehicle, or that the ticket was never seen.
- Failure to register a vehicle (No Decal including expired decal):
1st Ticket $50.00
2nd Ticket $75.00
3rd Ticket $100.00
4th Ticket $125.00
- Providing false information to a obtain decal will result in cancellation of driving privileges and referral to the UWA Student Life Committee for disciplinary action.
- Improper Parking
- Fines related to improper parking will increase with subsequent violations of the same type. Accumulation of three parking tickets of any nature will result in immobilization of vehicle and suspension of driving privileges on campus for the remainder of the semester; if the owner/driver receives more than three tickets, the violation fee will increase by an additional $25 per offense.
|Offense||1st Ticket||2nd Ticket||3rd Ticket||4th Ticket|
|Parking in Faculty/Staff||$25.00||$50.00||$75.00||$100.00|
|No Parking Zone||$50.00||$75.00||$100.00||$125.00|
|Parking on grass||$25.00||$50.00||$75.00||$100.00|
|Restricted time zone parking||$25.00||$50.00||$75.00||$100.00|
|Blocking traffic lanes, driveway, or crosswalk||$50.00||$75.00||$100.00||$125.00|
|Parking in fire lanes or blocking hydrants||$50.00||$75.00||$100.00||$125.00|
|Parking in Handicap||$100.00||$200.00||$300.00||$400.00|
The University Police shall tow a vehicle abandoned in a non-movable condition or unattended on a street, road, or parking lot for a period of seven days.
NOTE: Violation of any parking regulation could result in the vehicle being TOWED or immobilized. This includes Parking Bans. Vehicle immobilization device removal fee is $100.00.
3. Speeding: University officers have the option of issuing a University ticket or Uniform Traffic Complaint depending on severity. Fees associated with University tickets are as follows:
|First Offense||Second Offense||Third Offense|
|$75.00||$150.00||$225.00 plus loss of driving and parking privileges on campus|
NOTE: The speed limit on campus is 15-25 MPH unless otherwise posted.
4. Other Moving Violations:
a. Wrong way on a one-way street
b. Running a stop sign.
c. Driving on wrong side of street.
d. Failure to stop for pedestrians at properly marked cross-walks.
e. Operating a motor vehicle on grass or sidewalk.
NOTE: Any of the moving violations are $25.00 for the first offense. Driving privileges will be revoked on third offense.
5. Other Moving Violations – Reckless Driving:
a. Reckless driving is a violation of more than one moving violation in one action. Persons operating a motor vehicle in a manner harmful to life or property will be charged with reckless driving and will be fined $25.00. All fines listed are referred to University issued tickets, not for Uniform Traffic Citations. June 7, 2023
6. Moving violations can result in being issued a Uniform Traffic Citation.
Offenders will be subject to disciplinary action.
8. Loud Noise – radios/horns/mufflers: $25.00
9. Other: $25.00
H2: SECTION VIII–TICKET INFORMATION
All tickets are payable within 5 days. After 5 days a $10 late fee will be added. Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays are excluded. Failure to pay fines will result in grades being tagged and/or legal action by the civil authorities.
After any three citations in one given semester, motor vehicle parking privileges will be revoked for the remainder of the semester.
H3: Appeals Process:
Any person who receives a University parking ticket and believes there are valid reasons to appeal the ticket, may file a written appeal online no later than 72 hours from the time of issuance of the ticket. Verbal parking appeals are not accepted by telephone or in person at the University Police Department. Failure to file an appeal within the time allotted renders the ticket and associated fines as final. A person filing an appeal before the Appeals Committee will be notified of the verdict reached. Failure to pay fine after 5 days will result in added cost to the violator.
Each ticket must be appealed separately. Combining tickets on one appeal is not accepted and the appeal will not be considered.
The following reasons are NOT acceptable grounds for dismissing a parking or traffic citation.
1. Lack of knowledge of the Traffic and Parking Regulations;
2. Inability to find a proper parking space/no parking space available;
3. Inclement weather;
4. Late for class;
5. No permit displayed/failure to obtain proper permit;
6. Permit used by another person/operation of the vehicle by another person;
7. Failure of officers to ticket previously for similar offense;
8. Disagreement with the Traffic and Parking Regulations.
9. Claims of not receiving a hard copy of ticket on vehicle
H2: SECTION IX–TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS
Any accidents, which occur on campus and result in damage to property or persons, must be reported immediately to the University Police Department. Failure to do so will result in loss of parking privileges and/or criminal charges of Leaving the Scene of an Accident.
H2: SECTION X–STUDENT RESPONSIBILITY
If a student moves from one residence hall and commutes, or if a commuting student moves to a residence hall, it will be his/her responsibility to come to the University Police Department and get the proper decal and bring the current decal to be exchanged. It is also the responsibility of on-campus drivers to obtain a decal.