Skip to main content
Schedule a Visit Apply Now

UWA’s Dr. Aliquippa Allen tapped for Leadership Alabama

Dr. Aliquippa Allen
Business and technology dean to represent west Alabama through statewide network of leaders

The University of West Alabama’s Dr. Aliquippa Allen has been selected to participate in the esteemed Leadership Alabama, a statewide program of Alabama leaders engaged in creating a network of relationships that seeks mutual understanding of problems and priorities for Alabama’s future. Allen is dean of UWA’s College of Business and Technology. She is one of 67 members chosen statewide as Class XXX for 2019-2020.

“I look forward to gaining a better understanding of the issues and priorities facing our state while determining the role UWA can play in contributing potential solutions and innovative ideas,” Allen said. “This state-wide program will provide opportunities to network and collaborate with senior leaders from various parts of the state. It is truly an honor to be selected to participate in Leadership Alabama, and I am extremely grateful to our University President, Dr. Ken Tucker, for his nomination.”

Allen was named dean of UWA’s College of Business and Technology in June of 2018 after having served as interim dean prior. She joined the UWA faculty in August 2008, becoming department chair in 2013 and associate dean in 2015. She is the 2013 recipient of the prestigious William E. Gilbert Award for Outstanding Teaching, selected by the UWA student body.

Dr. Aliquippa Allen
College of Business and Technology Dean Dr. Alliquippa Allen is a retired Chief Master Sgt. in the United States Air Force. She was a guest speaker during the 2015 Keesler Annual Awards Banquet in 2016 at Keesler Air Force Base in Mississippi.
(U.S. Air Force photo by Kemberly Groue)


During the program year, which begins in October, Allen and the other Leadership Alabama Class XXX members will convene in Birmingham, Huntsville, Mobile and Montgomery, where they will hear challenging presentations and participate in class discussions that encourage them to make critical, thoughtful assessments of our state and its issues – both challenging and successful – while learning of some extraordinary initiatives that are addressing those issues.

“Leadership Alabama is an organization comprised of our state’s most accomplished and forward-thinking leaders who share a strong commitment in serving Alabama,” said Gordon Martin, Leadership Alabama’s board chair. “The outstanding members of Class XXX are continuing that steadfast legacy and will build on the strong foundation established by the preceding classes.”

Kate Cotton, executive director, added, “I am always amazed by the caliber and leadership skills of each new class, and once again, Class XXX includes incredible leaders who are already doing so much for our state. By bringing these 67 individuals together, all of us in Alabama are sure to benefit from their collective passion and knowledge.”


Class XXX Roster

Jason Alexander, CEO, St. Vincent’s and Providence Health Systems, Birmingham

Aliquippa Allen, Dean/College of Business & Technology, University of West Alabama, Livingston

Allen Bolton, SVP Finance & Administration, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham

Gary Bolton, VP Global Marketing & Public Policy, ADTRAN, Huntsville

Alexia Borden, SVP/General Counsel, Alabama Power Company, Birmingham

Miranda Bouldin, President & CEO, Logicore Corporation, Huntsville

Angie Bradwell, EVP/General Counsel, Alfa Insurance Companies, Montgomery

Chandra Brown, Executive Director, Lifelines Counseling Services, Mobile

Keith Brown, President, Jefferson State Community College, Birmingham

Cedric Campbell, Vice President & Director, Goodwyn, Mills & Cawood, Montgomery

Tony Cochran, President, CK Business Solutions, Huntsville

Glenda Colagross, President, NW Shoals Community College, Muscle Shoals

Daniel Coleman, President, Birmingham-Southern College, Birmingham

Steve Cook, EVP/Corporate Development, Dynetics, Huntsville

Laura Cooper, Executive Director, Lee County Youth Development Center, Auburn

Andy Craig, Deputy Superintendent, AL State Department of Education, Montgomery

Cassandra Crosby, Partner, Crosby Drinkard Group, Montgomery

Tim Culpepper, CEO, Cullman Electric Cooperative, Cullman

Reid Cummings, 1st Congressional District Commissioner, AL Real Estate Commission, Mobile

Chris Curry, President, Mobile Airport Authority, Mobile

Tom Dart, President, Automobile Dealers Association of Alabama, Montgomery

Michael Douglas, Superintendent, Decatur City Schools, Decatur

Chris Elliott, Senator, State of Alabama, Fairhope

Wendy Evesque, SVP & Chief HR Officer, Protective Life Corporation, Birmingham

Casi Ferguson, Area Development Director, UNCF, Birmingham

Paul Hankins, President, AL Association of Independent Colleges & Universities, Montgomery

Dane Haygood, Mayor, City of Daphne, Daphne

Lisa Herring, Superintendent, Birmingham City Schools, Birmingham

Walter Hill, CEO, Wiregrass United Way, Dothan

Chuck Holmes, Executive Director & General Manager, WBHM Public Radio, Birmingham

Rosilyn Houston, Chief Talent and Culture Executive, BBVA Compass, Birmingham

Hank Isenberg, President & CEO, IronMountain Solutions, Huntsville

Joseph Johnson, President, Friend Bank, Dothan

Daphne Johnston, Executive Director, Respite Ministry, Montgomery

Janet Kavinoky, VP/Federal & State Governmental Relations, Vulcan Materials Company, Birmingham

Allen Keller, Owner, Keller Lumber Company, Scottsboro

Scott Latham, President & CEO, Alabama Bankers Association, Montgomery

Mark LuQuire, Physician/President & Sr. Managing Partner, Montgomery Radiology Associates, Montgomery

Mary Beth Maddox, Senior EVP, Personnel Resources, Dothan

JesHenry Malone, Commissioner, Madison County Commission, Huntsville

Roger Mangham, State Director, The Nature Conservancy, Birmingham

Robbie McGhee, Chief Government & Public Affairs Officer, Poarch Band of Creek Indians, Atmore

Charles Miller, President & CEO, The Barber Companies, Birmingham

Margaret Nekic, President & CEO, Inspirien, Montgomery

Keith Pennington, CEO, Medical West Hospital, Birmingham

Craig Perciavalle, President, Austal USA, Mobile

Russell Pigg, Market President & CEO, North Alabama Medical Center, Florence

Teresa Pulliam, Circuit Judge, State of Alabama, Birmingham

Scott Reed, President & CEO, Oakworth Capital Bank, Birmingham

Riley Roby, Partner, Balch & Bingham, Montgomery

Clay Ryan, Vice Chancellor, The University of Alabama System, Tuscaloosa

John Saxon, President/Senior Partner, John D. Saxon, P.C., Birmingham

Jackie Screws, President, Chattahoochee Valley Community College, Phenix City

Kelli Shomaker, VP/Business & Finance/CFO, Auburn University, Auburn

Richard Stimpson, Chairman of the Board, Leavell Investment Management, Mobile

Daryl Taylor, VP & General Manager, Airbus Americas, Mobile

Bill Terry, Chairman, Highland Associates, Birmingham

Will Trapp, Senior Vice President, Merrill Lynch, Florence

David Turner, Senior Executive VP & CFO, Regions Bank, Birmingham

Tim Vines, President & CEO, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama, Birmingham

Dawn Walton, CFO, Children’s of Alabama, Birmingham

Lisa Williams, President, Soldier 1 Corporation, Huntsville

Nick Willis, Greater Alabama Regional President, PNC Bank, Birmingham

Kelli Wise, Associate Justice, Alabama Supreme Court, Montgomery

Dave Wood, Chairman, Wood Fruitticher Grocery Company, Birmingham

Ricardo Woods, Partner, Burr & Forman, Mobile

DeLynn Zell, CEO, Bridgeworth Financial, Birmingham