The University of West Alabama BOARD OF TRUSTEES September 9, 2002, 10:30 a.m. Student Union Building

AGENDA

▼	α \cdots		\sim 1	
I.	lle')	tΛ	Order	,
1.	Can	w	Oluci	

- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Minutes from last meeting
- IV. Report of Budget and Finance Committee FY 2002-2003 Budget
- V. Request for Approval of Change in Tenure Policy
- VI. Report on Enrollment
- VII. Recess of Meeting

-THE UNIVERSITY OF WEST ALABAMA Board of Trustees March 4, 2002, 10:30 a.m. Student Union Building

I. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Preston Minus, Chairman pro tem, called the meeting to order.

II. ROLL CALL

Mr. Minus asked Mr. Noland to call the roll. Trustees present were as follows:

Mr. Terry Bunn

Mr. Dwight Duke

Mr. Paul Hamrick

Mrs. Lena Hardaway

Mr. Robert Keahey

Mr. Preston Minus, Chairman pro tem

Dr. Louise Nolen

Dr. Doris Oliveira

Mr. Alex Saad

Mr. John Smith

Mr. Thed Spree

Dr. Tom Umphrey

Mr. Nat Watkins

Absent: none

Mr. Minus requested Mr. Saad to give the invocation.

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM LAST MEETING

There were no changes to the minutes from the meeting held on January 28, 2002, which had been previously distributed to the trustees. Mr. Watkins moved to approve the minutes, with Dr. Oliveira seconding the motion, and the motion passed.

Mr. Minus recognized Mr. Dee Outlaw, Athletic Director, who reported that the UWA Women's Basketball Team had been invited to play in the NCAA Division II Regional Playoffs, in Cleveland, MS, on Thursday night.

IV. LEGISLATIVE REPORT

Mr. Minus asked Mr. Spruiell to give an update on the Legislature. Mr. Spruiell also reported that the University received \$96,000 for the capital campaign, and \$50,000 of this amount was given by Mrs. Myrtle Ford to update the computer labs. Mr. Hamrick announced that Governor Siegelman plans to give a \$50,000 grant to the University.

V. REPORT FROM FINANCE COMMITTEE

Mr. Nat Watkins, Chair, reported that the Committee had met and that is the intent of the Committee to continue its practice of providing increases for faculty promotions, longevity, increased credentials, and for staff salary equity adjustments.

VI. REPORT FROM HONORARY DEGREE COMMITTEE

Mr. Robert Keahey, Chair, reported that the Honorary Degree Committee recommends three people to receive an honorary degree at the UWA Commencement in May. They are: Mr. Seth Hammett, Judge Charles Price, and Mrs. Odetta Holmes. This recommendation was approved by a majority vote.

VII. RESOLUTION ON BOARD COMMITTEES

Mr. Minus explained that he had asked Mr. Watkins to draft a resolution and distribute to the trustees, and added that he wanted to set up a system whereas individual Board members would have an avenue to pursue their concerns. The proposed resolution would allow a trustee to go to the applicable Board's committee chair with a concern, and the committee chair would express the concern to the President for attention. After discussion, Mr. Keahey moved that this matter be tabled and Mr. Duke seconded the motion. Mr. Minus requested a roll call vote. Votes to table this matter were as follows: Aye – Bunn, Duke, Hamrick, Hardaway, Keahey, Nolen, Spree, Umphrey; Nay – Minus, Oliveira, Saad, Smith, Watkins. The resolution was tabled.

Mr. Hamrick made a motion to re-visit and re-draft this resolution. Mr. Smith seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Mr. Minus asked Mr. Duke, Mr. Hamrick, Mr Saad, and Mr. Watkins to act as a committee to re-draft the resolution regarding Board members communicating with University staff and present it at the next meeting. Mr. Watkins will serve as Chair.

Mr. Minus distributed a report on enrollment and housing for this semester.

VIII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. Smith made a motion to go into an executive session, Mr. Saad seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

.....

IX. SELECTION OF NEW ACTING PRESIDENT

The meeting reconvened at 12:05 p.m. Mr. Keahey made a motion to select Dr. Richard Holland as the Acting President, and Mr. Smith seconded the motion. Mr. Paul Hamrick made a substitute motion to select Mr. Clemit Spruiell as the Acting President and Dr. Tom Umphrey seconded the vote.

Roll call votes for Clemit Spruiell were as follows: Aye – Bunn, Hamrick, Hardaway, Nolen, Saad, and Humphrey; Nay – Duke, Keahey, Minus, Oliveira, Smith, Spree, and Watkins. Motion did not pass.

Roll call votes for Richard Holland were as follows: Aye – Duke, Keahey, Minus, Oliveira, Smith, Spree, and Watkins; Nay – Bunn, Hamrick, Hardaway, Nolen, Saad, and Umphrey. Motion passed and Dr. Holland was selected to serve as the Acting President.

X. RECESS

There was no other business, and the meeting was recessed at 12:10 p.m. subject to

the call of the Chair.

Respectfully submitted,

Alex Saad, Secretary

T. Raiford Noland, Assistant Secretary