Skip to main content
Schedule a Visit Apply Now

Institutional Advancement

The mission of Institutional Advancement at the University of West Alabama is to provide leadership, expertise, support, and implementation in the areas of fundraising, donor relations, alumni relations, and communications. In accordance with our University’s mission, Institutional Advancement is committed to finding the appropriate resources to help UWA meet the state's educational needs, particularly in the West Alabama region.

Meet Our Staff

Office of the Vice President

 

Dr. Chris Thomason, CFRE

Vice President for Institutional Advancement

cthomason@uwa.edu

205-652-3586

 

 

 

 

Lynda Harwell

Foundation Accounting Specialist

lharwell@uwa.edu

 

 

 

 

Kathleen Upchurch

Operations Manager

kstephens@uwa.edu

205-652-3586

 

 

 

Alumni Affairs

 

 

Katie Beard

Director of Alumni Affairs

Alumni Scholarships

alumni@uwa.edu

205-652-3867

 

 

Development

 

 

Chris Theriot, CFRE

Director of Grants and Resource Development Liaison

Division of Institutional Advancement and Office of Sponsored Programs & Research

ctheriot@uwa.edu

205-706-0542

 

 

 

 

Amanda P. McRae

Development Officer

UWA Foundation Scholarships, Major Giving, Special Projects

amcrae@uwa.edu

205-652-3579

 

 

 

 

Strategic Communications

More on Strategic Communications

 

Betsy Compton

Director of Strategic Communications

bcompton@uwa.edu

205-652-3892

 

 

 

Kate Elmore

Social Media Coordinator

kelmore@uwa.edu

205-652-3623

 

 

Jenny C. Miller

Marketing Coordinator

jcmiller@uwa.edu

205-652-5438

 

 

 

 

Phillip Tutor

News Journalist

ptutor@uwa.edu

205-652-5486

 

 

Caleb Walters

Web Content Specialist

cwalters@uwa.edu

205-652-3593