Skip to main content
Schedule a Visit Apply Now

Division of Institutional Advancement Mission Statement

The mission of Institutional Advancement at the University of West Alabama (UWA) is to provide leadership, expertise, support, and implementation in the areas of fundraising, donor relations, alumni relations, public relations, communications and marketing. In accordance with our University’s mission, Institutional Advancement is committed to finding the appropriate resources to help UWA meet the state's educational needs, particularly in the West Alabama region.

Meet the Staff

Office of the Vice President

Dr. Chris Thomason, CFRE

Vice President for Institutional Advancement

cthomason@uwa.edu

205-652-3586

 

Lynda Harwell

Foundation Accounting Specialist

lharwell@uwa.edu

 

 

 

Kathleen Upchurch

Operations Manager

kstephens@uwa.edu

205-652-3586

 

Office of Alumni Affairs

 

Danielle Buckalew Hailey

Director of Alumni Affairs

Alumni Scholarships

alumni@uwa.edu

205-652-3867

 

 

Office of Development

 

Chris Theriot, CFRE

Director of Grants and Resource Development Liaison

Division of Institutional Advancement and Office of Sponsored Programs & Research

ctheriot@uwa.edu

205-706-0542

 

 

Amanda P. McRae

Development Officer

UWA Foundation Scholarships, Major Giving, Special Projects

amcrae@uwa.edu

205-652-3579

 

Office of Marketing & Communications

Robby Johnson, APR

Director of Marketing & Communications

rjohnson@uwa.edu

205-652-5414

 

Jenny C. Miller

Annual Giving Coordinator

jcmiller@uwa.edu

205-652-5438

 

Office of Public Relations

Betsy Compton

Director of Public Relations

pr@uwa.edu

205-652-3892