Skip to main content
Schedule a Visit Apply Now

Faculty Senate

 

The University Faculty Senate is advisory to the President and is concerned with keeping the University faculty informed and involved about matters affecting the University community.

 

The Senate seeks to improve understanding and cooperation among faculty, staff, and administration in their endeavors to promote the objectives of the institution.

 

From the Constitution of the UWA Faculty Senate: 
"The University of West Alabama Faculty Senate is established with the belief that all individuals of the University have a devotion to the education of students and the advancement of truth and knowledge. The Faculty Senate will encourage a unity of purpose, improve the understanding and cooperation of the administration, the faculty, and the staff in their endeavors to promote the objectives of the institution. The Senate believes that it should preserve and enhance the positions of the individual members of the University community while encouraging them to feel a sense of personal responsibility and common involvement."

Faculty Senate Roster

Ashley Dumas

President

adumas@uwa.edu

205-652-3830

Greg Jones

Vice-President

jgjones@uwa.edu

3752

Brie Winkles

Secretary

bwinkles@uwa.edu

3420

LaJuan Hutchinson

Past-President

lhutchinson@uwa.edu

3694

Anna Bedsole

Julia Tutwiler Library

abedsole@uwa.edu

3842

Karen Braxton

Business Administration, Management, and Marketing

kbraxton@uwa.edu

3657

Kristy Chapman

Accounting, Finance, and Economics

kdoggette@uwa.edu

3797

Debbie Davis

Languages and Literature

ddebbie@uwa.edu

3639

Estye Fenton

Behavioral Sciences

 

efenton@uwa.edu

5507

Kim Griffith

Teaching and Learning

kgriffith@uwa.edu

3753

Chris Haveman

History and Social Sciences

chaveman@uwa.edu

3461

Kevin Jones

Instructional Leadership and Support

kjones@uwa.edu

3635

Yun-Ho Kim

Physical Sciences

ykim@uwa.edu

3496

Paul Lee

Fine Arts

plee@uwa.edu

3515

Dara Murray

Nursing

dmurray@uwa.edu

5465

Andy Rindsberg

Biological and Environmental Sciences

arindsberg@uwa.edu

3416

Byron Thetford

Student Affairs

(non-voting)

bthetford@uwa.edu

3435

Hazel Truelove

Mathematics

 

htruelove@uwa.edu

3747

Caleb Walters

Communication

cwalters@uwa.edu

3593

Andrea Wilson

Health Sciences and Human Performance

acwilson@uwa.edu

5436

Kendra Winnick

Computer Information Systems and Technology

kwinnick@uwa.edu

3645